A Fairy Tale of an Email

“An agent’s week is a writer’s month.”

This is a quote from a conversation with another writer not too long ago. It feels like it was about a month ago, but I think it was Monday. Writers are known for the fact that they tend to be born with a lack of patience. This is something that I was also told. I agree because it is a fantastic excuse for being antsy.

I did receive a most elegant rejection awhile back. (that means this week) It was refreshing to take in a bit of feedback. I have honestly been considering another complete revision. I do not mind a tweak, and edit, but revising the entire book for the fourteenth time, well, if that can be avoided, yay! The rejection stated that there was no issue with the strength of my writing ability or story, just the simple fact that my submission did not mesh with the “current trend” of the literary world.

For a moment, the pessimist of my soul honestly debated throwing in a hot wolf boy or a zombie- somehow into my fairy’s tale. Alas, my fragment of optimist said, “Oh no you didn’t.” So, I took a step back to re-read this rejection. My story as well as my writing is not the issue. This current trend is the deal. Selling this to an editor or publisher as it is not the “in thing” is the issue. As happy as I may be about this not being about me or Livian- seriously, a fairy tale is not trending? Since when? Does Grimm know about this?

Currently, my query is under constructive critiquing by other authors. This may be a bit of my hold up. Snag them in from the get-go. I am excited over this chance to take other’s input and put it to use. Once again, the pessimist snagged me as I sat on facebook reading insightful status updates from one of my long time favorite authors, Anne Rice. Her words carry beauty and grace even along the ramblings of facebook. I adore her.  One of her updates instructed her fans on how to leave comments or questions on her facebook page. She also included her email address for longer comments or questions. Hmmmmm.

I giggled out loud at my thoughts. Email Anne Rice. Yeah, right. To say what? ADVISE!!! Who better to ask for advise than a personal icon? Psh. No. I can’t do that. That would be silly. A waste of time even. I sat motionless in thought and before I knew it…..Dearest Anne Rice,

Do you know me? Of course I did. Such information can not bleed into my eyes without reaction. A simple quick email, as to not waste her time. What could it hurt? Short and simple is not my strength. After scrolling down…and down…and a bit more, I realized one thing.  Anne Rice is going to delete this ramble. I sent it anyway. Simply writing the words down that lay heavily upon my heart- the nerves, the stress, the pondering- of this literary adventure; I felt so much better. It was like blogging to one certain person. (Sigh) Feeling much better already.

Olivia, my oldest daughter, stayed home from school today as she is sick and decrepit….She even managed to muster a laugh at silly mom for emailing someone like Anne Rice. It’s not like I have had a reply back from Michael Stipe yet and I wrote that letter in 2003. As we are both laughing at the silliness of my email, my inbox pops with the sound of a new email. I click the tab, it is a reply concerning my Anne Rice email. A simple automated reply, I mean, it has only been like seven minutes.

Nope. Not an auto-response. It is an actual email…..from Anne Rice. Are you kidding?  It was not as long as my email, of course, but it was just as nice, elegant, and flowing as you would think an Anne Rice email would be. Inspiration to the fullest. I feel like I am back on top of this…Optimism rules. Faith rules. And this email, most likely getting printed, framed, and placed on the study wall right above this desk.

Here is a portion of the email:

 

“You have to go on, keeping writing, keep submitting,
keep searching.  Frankly I think it is harder to find
an agent than an editor who will accept your manuscript.
Just keep going
Many are rejected repeatedly and then acceptance comes.
It’s all subjective.
I appreciated your letter very much.
I wish you every blessing with your writing.
Anne.”

 

What a wonderful author to take the time to encourage the unknowns. Livian, Full speed ahead.

One thought on “A Fairy Tale of an Email

  1. I did get a form letter from Stephen King, back when I wrote him at the age of ten, and that excited me! But yes, knowing that someone as busy (and as famous) as Anne Rice TOOK THE TIME to write you a personal email–someone whom she doesn’t know–must make you feel really special. Just as special, in fact, as I did when a certain well-known film critic decided to post advice–advice!–on one of my blog posts (the other posts were equally lovely, only one from someone who I’ve actually met in the flesh).

    And she’s right: you must keep writing and submitting.

    Remember: everyone told J.K. Rowling that her book about a boy wizard wasn’t commercial, even after they published it. So don’t think a rejection says anything about your writing abilities. It says more about an agent’s or editor’s taste and preferences.

Leave a Reply

