My First Book Festival. (SC Book Festival)

I attended my very first book festival recently thanks to the wonderful Ring of Fire Publishing. The South Carolina Book Festival, in Columbia, set a standard for bookish events for me.

Highlight: Meeting my favorite monkey. Thanks to Eli for running with me and taking the pic- and AJ for watching my booth!

The interaction with readers was overwhelming. This is not an event to do alone- not that it cannot be handled alone, but there are too many people to have wonderful conversations with for a single person to master. I met some “interesting” people- even a psychic that informed me of where I lived and how many children I had. (creepy) I decided to get smart and ask him what I was having for dinner. “Chicken…and you’re cooking it.” he whispered. What a let down. Well, he was half right. Thanks, Bojangles. I did not feel like cooking.

I loved the interest readers carried in the back story of each book on the Ring of Fire table. The conversations came back to back to back. Seven Deadly Sins was a huge hit right along with Stephen Penner’s SCOTTISH RITE. (Everyone loves that book.)

I also autographed my first book for a non-friend or family member. I don’t know if it is normal, but I will never forget the name. God Bless Kermit- the sweet fella that asked for my first stranger autograph. What a kick-butt name. Kermit. I like that guy.

Above and beyond the wonderful experience with readers, I must mention the biggest factor I see in attending a book event and why you must do it. Networking. Always the number one key- networking.

I made some fantastic connections, including library services, warehousing, book clubs, reviewers, and etc.. But my favorite connections were other publishers and authors working the event around me. I grew rather fond of some of these booth holders. You will see me promote them on facebook and twitter. I would like to especially point out the lovely ladies that spent the weekend across from me. While I was setting up my booth, my first booth ever- these ladies came in like storm troopers. Oh, the swag and set up they brought and put together quicker than Chuck Norris could slap a biscuit from your mama’s mouth. They made me sick. LOL. I would easily say they had the best booth for an author at this event.

Not only did they entertain me better than cable ever could, they taught me so very much and helped. I know my next event will be an even better experience and I will always be truly thankful to them for the insight and suggestions. So, here’s to you, AJ Scudiere and her right hand lady, Eli Jackson. I must do another event near you guys.

Meet AJ and Eli

5 thoughts on “My First Book Festival. (SC Book Festival)

  1. Minions. You must have minions when you have a booth at a book festival. I bribe–oops, I mean pay–mine with alcoholic beverages and chocolate.
    No, seriously, my two best buddies are my two best assistants. They help me set up, sell for me when I’m speaking or on a potty run, and help pack up when all’s said and done. They make it much easier to attend these things.

  2. Thank you, Michelle! It was great to get to know you. You MUST come to the Southern Festival of Books here in Nashville!
    Can’t wait to see you again.
    A.J. Scudiere

Leave a comment